So to add a Table, all that need to be done was to add the tag to the EditText.php file.
However, the issue now is that extra BR tags are being added above the table when rendered in a browser (IE,FF,CH).
There are no BR tags above the table, No extra padding in the CSS. When the BR tag added/removed from the EditText.php file the BR tags are still rendered in the browser.
So where are these extra BR tags coming from, I have no idea. Has anyone else had an issue with extra tags appearing on the pages when rendered?
http://ramblewoodsoccer.org/?page=sponsors
Extra BR tags are being added above my table... Not sure whe
-
- Premium User
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 7:06 pm
Extra BR tags are being added above my table... Not sure whe
Last edited by autodefrost on Thu Jun 05, 2014 4:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.
-
- Premium User
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 7:06 pm
Re: Formatting Text With Tables / Need Rows and Columns
So I found the 'EditTxt.php' file and added the '<table><tr><td>' tags and the table is now working . Whoot, Whoot.
However, now there is a weird space above the table. With Firebug, it''s showing <br/> repeated about 100 times, however in the code, there is no <br/> above the table.
I checked the CSS, nothing indicates that there should be padding above the table....So I wanted share this quark with others, to see if I'm overlooking something.
http://ramblewoodsoccer.org/?page=sponsors
However, now there is a weird space above the table. With Firebug, it''s showing <br/> repeated about 100 times, however in the code, there is no <br/> above the table.
I checked the CSS, nothing indicates that there should be padding above the table....So I wanted share this quark with others, to see if I'm overlooking something.
http://ramblewoodsoccer.org/?page=sponsors
Re: Extra BR tags are being added above my table... Not sure
This a bug we probably won't be able to attend due to developing the newer versions. However, there is a quick fix.
You can edit your file manually in /files/yourFile.txt and remove the <br>'s manually.
But the <br>'s will unfortunately be added next time you edit the page (with clicking in and out) - so you'd have to repeat the process until you are satisfied with your page.
I would also strongly recommend that you upgrade to the latest beta by clicking here, as it is pretty rock solid. Be sure to make a backup first.
You can edit your file manually in /files/yourFile.txt and remove the <br>'s manually.
But the <br>'s will unfortunately be added next time you edit the page (with clicking in and out) - so you'd have to repeat the process until you are satisfied with your page.
I would also strongly recommend that you upgrade to the latest beta by clicking here, as it is pretty rock solid. Be sure to make a backup first.
-
- Premium User
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 7:06 pm
Re: Extra BR tags are being added above my table... Not sure
Thanks Rob.
I see what you mean. I think upgrading is probably the way to go.
I've installed a new version of the CMS, and tested the <table> tag and there is still space above the table:
http://ramblewoodsoccer.org/Upgrade/home
I see what you mean. I think upgrading is probably the way to go.
I've installed a new version of the CMS, and tested the <table> tag and there is still space above the table:
http://ramblewoodsoccer.org/Upgrade/home
Re: Extra BR tags are being added above my table... Not sure
I tested this out on the latest beta, and you are completely correct, it adds breaks.
I had to test it myself to understand the problem. The problem is, that when you're doing tables, you enter a new tag into a new row (which causes a break).
The solution to this, is to put your table through this HTML minifier (which kicks out all the brakes).
So your minified HTML table would look like:
Here's a demo of how the table looks like.
I'm glad we got to the bottom of this. Marking this topic solved.
If you still have any questions or issues, opening a new thread is the way to go.
I had to test it myself to understand the problem. The problem is, that when you're doing tables, you enter a new tag into a new row (which causes a break).
The solution to this, is to put your table through this HTML minifier (which kicks out all the brakes).
So your minified HTML table would look like:
Code: Select all
<table cellpadding="0" border="0"><tbody><tr><td align="left" valign="top" width="146"><strong>Established Customer</strong></td><td width="103"><p>Full Sided Field</p><p>(~120y X 70y)</p></td><td width="281"><p>$80 for each game (~2hrs.)</p><p>or $40 per hour for frisbee </p></td></tr><tr><td></td><td>With Lights</td><td><p></p><p>$130</p><p></p></td></tr><tr><td><strong>New Customer</strong></td><td><em>Per match</em></td><td></td></tr><tr><td></td><td>3 Fields or Less</td><td>$120 for each game</td></tr><tr><td></td><td>4 Fields or More</td><td>$100 </td></tr><tr><td></td><td>Field #1</td><td>$150</td></tr><tr><td></td><td>With Lights</td><td>$200</td></tr></tbody></table>
I'm glad we got to the bottom of this. Marking this topic solved.
If you still have any questions or issues, opening a new thread is the way to go.