[SOLVED] one custom template for employee pages

Ask for help or provide support to other members.
ctuxboy

[SOLVED] one custom template for employee pages

Post by ctuxboy »

Hello,

I will try building a website where every employee his own profile-page.
I know it is possible building custom templates for different pages:
- pagename: name-employee
- php-file: name-employee.php

What i will try to do, so i can use one custom template, for different employees.
For made this using subpages:

Code: Select all

website.com/employee/name1-surname1
website.com/employee/name2-surname2
I have some basic php knowledge.
My question: is there a way, with a if..then structure:

IF subpage-in-employee-dir THEN using custom template profile.php

PS: custom templates is a feature i missed a lot in WCMS, hope it's planned in the near future :?
Last edited by ctuxboy on Fri Oct 07, 2022 8:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ctuxboy

Re: one custom template for employee pages

Post by ctuxboy »

Found a workaround/solution for my problem.

Here the code i adding in theme.php:

Code: Select all

<?php
  // get current $dir
  $dir = pathinfo($Wcms->getCurrentPageUrl(), PATHINFO_DIRNAME);
  $pattern = '/employees/';

// if 'employees' in the url => profile-page-layout ELSE default layout
  if (preg_match($pattern, $dir)) {
    echo 'EMPLOYEE PAGE!'; // add here your specific template/layout
  } else {
    echo 'DEFAULT PAGE!'; // default template/layout
  }
?>
This is my use case:
The basedirs:
- https://website.com
- https://website.com/employee (when select a subpage from the employees-page)

All the employees are subpages from the employees-page

How the code works:
1. get current dir/url and add it to the variable $dir
2. test if the $pattern employees is exist in the variable $dir
3. if TRUE => subpage employee
4. if FALSE => default/root page

This snippet gives WCMS more flexibility, and very useful for a lot of usecases (articles, blogposts, profiles,..)
Hope it can help others :)