[SOLVED] Error when trying to install theme, but theme works if manually installed.

Ask for help or provide support to other members.
Post Reply
FanboyStudios
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2021 4:12 am

[SOLVED] Error when trying to install theme, but theme works if manually installed.

Post by FanboyStudios »

1. What version of WonderCMS are you using.
I'm using version 3.1.4

2. What type of server do you have. (Apache, NGINX, IIS)
Apache

3. What version of PHP do you have.
I'm using PHP 7.4

4. Does your hosting provider/server meet the minimum WonderCMS requirements? (https://wondercms.com/requirements - or send your hosting provider this link and ask them if they meet the minimum requirements)
Yes

5. Are you using a custom theme or any plugins, which ones?
I'm trying to use a custom theme, based on Essence... but it's not installing. However, manually installing works and the theme functions pretty much how I intended it to.
The error I get during the install is "Error opening ZIP file."
I can install other themes such as my older theme (https://github.com/FanboyStudios/Random ... elopmental), but my new theme is not installing.
Link to my new theme below...
https://github.com/FanboyStudios/RFMG-W ... elopmental

My plugins: Summernote Editor 3.1.1, Simple Blog 3.1.0, Simple Statistics 3.0.2, Additional Contents 3.0.8, Cache Thumbs 3.0.0, Contact Form 3.0.0
FanboyStudios
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2021 4:12 am

Re: Error when trying to install theme, but theme works if manually installed.

Post by FanboyStudios »

Alright, so I figured out the issue myself!

Apparently the GitHub Client defaults to the "main" branch instead of the "master" branch.
As such, the zip file is renamed with "-main" on the end instead of "-master", which I guess WonderCMS doesn't like.

Anyway, I fixed it by deleting my repo and remaking the repo with Master branch set as default.

I can now install my new theme! :)
User avatar
wiz
Admin
Posts: 576
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:23 am

Re: Error when trying to install theme, but theme works if manually installed.

Post by wiz »

Hey Fanboystudios, this issue is already reported and fixed in the new (unreleased version).

3.2.0 is still in progress due to some Submenu bugs, and we're working on fixing them (and releasing a beta version prior).
Glad you figured it out and that you're enjoying your theme.

How are you finding WonderCMS, apart from the bug you've run into? :)
Post Reply