My Website Uses WonderCMS

Proud of your WonderCMS website? Share it with the world!
Post Reply
User avatar
IMRandell
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 11:02 am

My Website Uses WonderCMS

Post by IMRandell »

I'm totally loving wonderCMS what a great flatfile CMS. I have tried many in the past and for a number of reasons they have never quite been what i was after. It wasn't untill this week i finally gave wonderCMS a go and now im kicking myself i never tried it sooner.

It does everything and it looks beautiful too.

I'm a newbie at coding been doing it to fix stuff on my sites for years but i'm not really talented at it.
Hopefully i can contribute something to this community some day other than appreciation and admiration.

Thank you everyone involved in created this wonderful flatfile CMS.

Side note: Im running WonderCMS on ecoincoop.com it's a crypto currency blog, and advertising service.

Thank you everyone. Your work is very much appreciated.
My WonderCMS Site: eCoinCoop
User avatar
wiz
Admin
Posts: 532
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:23 am

Re: My Website Uses WonderCMS

Post by wiz »

Hi Randell, welcome to the community.

Since our users seem to be mostly silent, any type of feedback is so appreciated! I'm really glad you're enjoying WonderCMS.

For us to be able to improve for the future, is there anything you miss while using WonderCMS and is there anything that waa difficult to understand?

What would you add/remove/change, from your perspective?
Thanks for your feedback and sharing, also congratulations on your website. Looking good!
User avatar
IMRandell
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 11:02 am

Re: My Website Uses WonderCMS

Post by IMRandell »

Hi thanks Wiz cheers for the welcome.

If your after feedback id be happy to help.

One main thing i noticed i couldn't do was make a menu link a URL to another site.

for example it only lets me make a page eg.. /contact
It would be nice if i could make a menu item like

Forum = someforum.com

right now id have to make a plugin and then probably do something tricky to make it happen or am i missing something.

I tried adding a link via the theme.php

but doesn't show like others

Image

I'm be sure to post more suggestions as i have them.

Meanwhile I'm delving into the code. i think it's such an awesome CMS.
My WonderCMS Site: eCoinCoop
User avatar
IMRandell
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 11:02 am

Re: My Website Uses WonderCMS

Post by IMRandell »

Feel like a bit of an idiot. but i got it to work.

Here's how I added menu links can't believe i overcomplicated it so much lol.
is their a better way to do this? or is this the best way?

Edited: themes/essence/theme.php

Code: Select all

 <div class="collapse navbar-collapse" id="menu-collapse">
	<ul class="nav navbar-nav navbar-right ml-auto">
	<?= $Wcms->menu() ?> 
	<!--Add menu Links To Other Sites below-->
	<li class="nav-item"><a class="nav-link" href="https://topadcoop.com" target="_blank">Forum</a></li>
	<!--Add menu Links To Other Sites above-->
	</ul>
					
</div>
Image
My WonderCMS Site: eCoinCoop
User avatar
wiz
Admin
Posts: 532
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:23 am

Re: My Website Uses WonderCMS

Post by wiz »

Actually, funny you mention it, that's the exact same trick we use on the wondercms.com homepage :)
It would definitely be easier to do this with a plugin for a non-techy solution.

We'll see if there's a simple/tiny way we can implement outbound/custom URL within the core.

Thank you for your feedback! If you'd like, you can join us on our Slack channel: https://wondercms.slack.com.
User avatar
wiz
Admin
Posts: 532
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:23 am

Re: My Website Uses WonderCMS

Post by wiz »

To add to the above, just make sure you make a copy of your modified theme, to avoid any theme updates overriding your changes.
User avatar
IMRandell
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 11:02 am

Re: My Website Uses WonderCMS

Post by IMRandell »

Cheers
My WonderCMS Site: eCoinCoop
Post Reply