Sub-menu navigation

Welcome to the WonderCMS community. Anything goes, except for support requests.
Post Reply
VMV
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 12:49 am

Sub-menu navigation

Post by VMV »

Hi, I'm new to WonderCMS. My wife need a website for her knitting school and after some research stumbled upon your software. Congratulations for a great and truly simple CMS tool!

Is there a direct way to add sub-menu capability to the site navigation? I guess I could hack up something with javascript and trying to be clever about selecting page visibility in the main menu, but that would kind of defeat the purpose of using a simple CMS. Perhaps there is a simple way, but I'm just not seeing it.

Obviously WonderCMS is not intended for very large websites, and that's fine. But without navigation sub-menus, it's not really practical for a site with more than five or six pages, whereas with just one level of sub-menus it could easily get up 20 or more.

Thanks,

Victor

P.S.: If there is a way of adding sub-menus in the navigation, then I apologize for the stupid question. As said above, I'm new to WonderCMS.

wiz
Admin
Posts: 455
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:23 am

Re: Sub-menu navigation

Post by wiz »

Hi VMV, have a warm welcome to the community!

Glad you're loving WonderCMS.
Unfortunately, in it's current state, WonderCMS doesn't support sub pages/sub menus. It's one of our next steps and a GitHub issue is already present.

I also agree the sub pages could bring great value and not overcomplicate WonderCMS as is.
Your question/request is valid and I'll write here (and on GitHub) once this is implemented.

Thanks for the input and great feedback.
If you don't mind answering, did you or your wife have any other pain points or questions in regards to WonderCMS? Possibly something that wasn't clear when first using it and you've discovered through trial and error?

VMV
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 12:49 am

Re: Sub-menu navigation

Post by VMV »

Hi Wiz,

Thanks for the welcome and good disposition.

In retrospect, the documentation is clear. However, when I first downloaded WonderCMS and started playing with it, I must admit that the Default theme was confusing. The static element is so prominent in the Default theme design, that I incorrectly assumed the first element was a title or header section and the static element was actually the page's main content. When I created a second page and the "contents" of the first page appeared out of nowhere, I got really confused. Again, in retrospect it seems silly.

wiz
Admin
Posts: 455
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 12:23 am

Re: Sub-menu navigation

Post by wiz »

Cheers for the valuable feedback.

No matter how silly it may seem, it makes sense to take that feedback and possibly do something about it to avoid confusing other users.

Do you think some additional text clarifications in the static "about" section would help in this case?
Possibly a clearer explanation that it appears on all pages?

Post Reply